Bharat Stage Emission Standards

Bharat Stage Emission Standards (BSES) are emission standards instituted by the Government of India to regulate the emission from the output of air pollutants from the compression ignition engines and spark ignition engines. This emission standards are for both heavy vehicles and light vehicles.

Emission standards are the standards set for the requirement of specific limits sets to the amount of air pollutants that can be released into the environment. The standards are set by the Central Pollution Control Board under the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Emission standards are based on European regulations as it first introduced in 2000. All the vehicles manufactured after the implementation of norms have to be complaint with the regulations. In 2010, Bharat Stage (BS) norms have been enforced across the country.

Many emission standards focus on regulating pollutants released by an automobile, motor vehicles and other transport vehicles but they can also be regulating the emission from industries, large scale manufacturing companies, factories, small industries, power plants and small equipment’s such as diesel generators and lawn movers.

Emission standards are generally regulating the emission of NOx, particulate matter (PM) or soot, volatile hydrocarbon and carbon monoxide.

Since the year 2000, India started adapting the European emission and fuel regulations for four wheeled light duty and heavy-duty vehicles. On he year 2003, the National Auto Fuel Policy has been announced in which the phased program for Euro emission 2-4 emission and fuel regulation by the year 2010.

The table below shows implementation for the Indian Emission Standard for four-wheeler vehicles are as follows,

India 2000Euro I2000Nationwide
Bharat Stage IIEuro II2003-04NCR (10 cities)
Bharat Stage IIIEuro III2010-14Nationwide
Bharat Stage IVEuro IV2010-14NCR

The 10 cities include Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Pune, Kanpur, Surat, Agra and Ahmedabad.

Since the year 2020, the Central Government of India mandated that every two-wheeler and four-wheeler manufacturers, ought to manufacture, sell and register solely BS6 (BSVI) vehicles. As compared to BS4, the BS6 standards are stricter and the manufacturers can update their vehicles with new variations and safety options.

The table below shows the permissible emission levels of BS6 vehicles as compared to BS4 vehicles as,

Fuel TypePollutant GasesBS6 (BSVI)BS4 (BSIV)
Petroleum Distilled VehiclesNitrogen Oxide (NOx) Limit60 mg80 mg
Particulate Matter (PM) Limit4.5 mg/km
Diesel Fuel VehiclesNitrogen Oxide (NOx) Limit80 mg250 mg
Particulate Matter (PM) Limit4.5 mg/km25 mg
HC + NOx170 mg/km300 mg

Moving to BS6 will require technological upgrades and safety upgrades in two wheelers and four vehicles.

Mahesh Vyas

I am Engineer and Web Developer. I made to find the better solutions for our engineering community, help and provide the information about engineering and technology. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *